Work is under way on restoring an iconic structure in Elgin town centre.
The Muckle Cross – which stands on the Plainstones in the shadow of St Giles Church – was constructed around 1888 and has been showing signs of significant decay and deterioration.
The project will preserve the historic fabric of the monument – which occupies a prominent position and is an important part of Elgin’s heritage – and restore it to its former glory.
The work, which is being undertaken by local company Darroch and Allan, is expected to be completed by the spring.
The first cross on the site was originally known as the Mercat Cross and is thought to have been built in the late 1300s when the area around St Giles included both a market place and a burial ground.
The Muckle Cross – meaning Big Cross – was designed by Sydney Mitchell and is a category B listed monument.
Funding for the restoration project has come from Moray Council, the Elgin Common Good Fund and the Elgin Conservation Area Regeneration Scheme (CARS).
Here is a sneak peek of the works underway.